Daily Design: Day 305

Daily Design is a series of game concepts devised daily through all of 2016. These are just basic concepts, designed based on randomly generated words. Today, they are;

One, Sheer and Squash.

As such, the game I’ve designed today is…

Defenestration Day

image.jpegDefenestration Day is a single-player tower defence in which players defend a high-rise building by throwing people out of windows and at their enemies.

The citizens of the tower can be upgraded in a myriad of ways – for example, some can be well-fed which increases their size, whereas gassy residents can explode for a poison effect when they land.

Other fairly standard tower defence rules apply. Enemies that close the gap will start dealing damage to the structure, and the player loses if this structure is destroyed.

Players can upgrade their building for more defence, upgrade the field for slowing and damage dealing effects and so on. No matter what, though, their primary offensive weapon is the ability to throw people.

Finally, I think I should mention that it’s clearly a game that could offend a large number of people. It has clear imagery in common with real-life disasters from all over the world, so I think a completely unrealistic art style would be a huge benefit.

But, essentially, this is something that I don’t see myself ever making, largely for that reason. Controversy can help to make a game – just look the game Hatred, which was so ordinary it wouldn’t have had any press coverage at all if not for the controversy it sparked.

Still, in keeping with the nature of the blog, I went with the first idea I thought of given the words.

That’s it! Thanks for reading. I wrote this one on my phone yet again, so I’m worry if there are any formatting issues. I’ll be back tomorrow with another quick game concept. 

Leave a Reply

