Team Fortress 2 – CTF_3Bridge!

Hey all.

So, it’s been just over a month since my last update and since then, I’ve learned one important thing – never schedule a project before you’ve received your timetable for the trimester. It goes without saying that I didn’t make the deadline for my last game – I didn’t even come close.

In the end, I decided to scrap the project. I enjoyed using RPG Maker VX Ace (quite a bit) and I’d recommend checking it out if you’re interested in making a SNES-style RPG.

I thought I’d keep working on it even if I didn’t meet the deadline, but I found it was chewing up too much of my time. The biggest factor, though, was that when I’m spending free time developing something, it’s typically in order to learn – and I didn’t feel like I was learning much from my last game.

So, sadly, it’s done. But, in brighter news, I’m working on something new – a map! It’s for the crazy-popular Team Fortress 2. It’s still very early days (very much in the grey box phase), but I’m enjoying it a lot. Level design is one area I’m really interested in but have historically struggled with, so I figure I could use the practice.

3Bridge_Screenshot_1

 

It’s a Capture the Flag map and I plan to make it symmetrical, both for balance and to speed up the design process a bit. Currently, as I mentioned, it’s in the grey box phase – I’ve done a tiny bit of texturing just to get a feel for how I plan to make it look, but most of it is still nice and grey or completely missing.

3Bridge_Screenshot_2

The centre of the map has three bridges and, having reached the pinnacle of creative genius, I decided to name the map 3Bridge. Being an avid (addicted) Team Fortress 2 player, I know that the best maps have several routes to any given objectives, plus that they give each of the 9 classes a variety of options at any moment. I’m hoping to let each class shine, but that’s obviously a lot easier said than done.

3Bridge_Screenshot_3

 

I’ll be updating the blog with posts as I go. Now that I know how busy I am from day-to-day, I’m sure I’ll have the time to keep this one regularly updated. No more month-long waits for my legions of adoring fans.

Leave a Reply

