Game Finished!

Hi again,

Sorry for the hiatus, but I’ve been pretty flat out with uni work. My game is finished as of about a week ago, but because of my terrible handling of assets, it’s too big for me to upload at the moment. I’ll possibly cut it back some and upload it anyway later on, but I’d say I’m just going to focus more on my next project. 

So, the game turned out ‘okay’. There are some things I’m quite happy about and other things I’m not. I’ll upload the post-mortem, so if you’re really interested feel free to give it a read. It basically covers what went wrong, what went right and what I learned from doing it, which is probably a largely uninteresting read for most people. 

To give it a quick summary, I wish I’d put more time into polishing the game and making it feel more fun. I spent too much time getting it to work properly – largely due to my novice programming skills – and not enough time making it fun and ‘neat’. For my next project, I plan to spend a lot less time making it functional and a lot more time polishing the game and making it more interesting. Obviously, I still plan for it to function properly and to meet the brief, but I’m realising more and more that each tiny addition to the mechanics of a game really sucks up your time.

I’ll update the blog later on about my next project in more detail, but it’s basically a 3D version of the one I just finished. I’m pretty excited to do this for a couple of reasons – Firstly, it won’t take as much time to code as a game from scratch would. Secondly, I think this game could be really cool in 3D and lastly, I’m kind of glad I get to go back and address some of the issues I had with the game initially – such as the crappy combat. 

As promised, I’ll upload the post-mortem on the blog, but I’ll do it in a separate page. It’s about 6 pages long, so I don’t really feel like it has any place on the main page. Please give it a read if you’re interested and as always, feel free to ask me any questions relating to my games or the blog.

PS. Sorry I couldn’t upload a copy of the game to play! If somebody really wants it feel free to send me an email. I plan to cut back on the file size in my next project, so I should be able to upload a completed version of that when I’m done. My next post will be all about that project, so look forward to it.

 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

